Travian Platinum Club (RE: Battling the Bots)

• Hey Folks,

First off -- a little background about me. I started playing in 2007. I was someone’s farm for two or three servers -- and then I learned the old school strategy of building 200 maces, pushing settlement, and then raiding out of a 15c. That was back in the days of no farm lists. Before farm lists came out, I won top robber medals with all three tribes playing solo or working on large dual teams. It was fun; however, I was also in college with a lot of free time.

Coincidentally, as college picked up for me in the second half of my four years, T3.5 came out (which introduced “farm lists). These lists weren’t like the lists we have today -- it was more of a list of hyperlinks that gave a little information on your raid history on that village. There was certainly no “raid all function.” But it certainly saved a TON of time, and it made me able to play the game a little better.

Even more fortunately, just as I was finishing college T4 and the real farm lists came out. This changed a lot -- now it took much less time to raid as long as you were around to send the units out. I know some old school players that still think farm lists are “broken” or “too easy” -- but honestly who in the heck wants to sit around and click links all day and NOT use the farm list?

This year, the test server came up and I happened to stumble upon a Travian bot. I wasn’t looking for it -- I came across it in a forum. I had never used a bot before, but the idea of using one on a test server sounded innocent enough. I still had to make a farm list and do all the normal things, but the bot sent the farms out every half hour for me. All it did was save me time.

After using the bot for a couple of weeks, I learned a few things that I think TG should consider: